April 20, 2012

  • My mom tells me that Madeleine counted backwards from 60 to 0, and that I should mention it it my blog, so here it is -- mentioned!  Check. 

     

    The kids say all sorts of cute and funny things, though I don't know if I can remember them all.  Grant was telling me "If you say so" today, when I told him to do things, though it came out a bit more like "you say so".  The kids stayed at my mom's house, and when I picked them up, Madeleine told me that they were "having a blast" playing with the toys there.  Little phrases like that always make me laugh. 

    There was a very big black beetle outside my mom's house today, on the wall, and Madeleine was really scared of it.  It was a bit intimidating.  Then tonight when we went home, my mom was showing something to Grant out there in the same place.  Madeleine took one look, thought it was the awful beetle, and went running into the house and was going to go out the back door, so she wouldn't have to go past the beetle.  But it turns out it was really a snail.  I don't know if I remember seeing snails here before, or not.  Maybe once?  Madeleine thought the snail was okay.  Grant was thrilled.  It was big (to my unpracticed eye), and I checked the shell to see if it really was hard.  I thought it a bit disturbing, still, and wasn't sure if it was much better than the beetle.  But Grant was so excited and when we got home he was telling Brian about it so quickly and wildly that it was impossible to decipher much of what he was saying.

    Grant has really started telling stories now.  He loves to go up to people and start telling them all about something that happened earlier.  It's all very fragmented, but I can usually interpret it for the people who weren't there and thus have no clue what he's talking about.  He's very friendly and chatty and really has been making a lot of verbal developments lately.  It's so fun to watch. 

    Grant is here telling me he is tired (which I kind of doubt, since we both took a long nap), but we're going to go upstairs and read books.  So.... good night!