February 17, 2012

  • I started taking ballet classes again!  Yay!  After the first class I hurt a lot for 5 days.  But the last two classes have been pretty fine.  It does make me wish I had had an opportunity to practice everyday, like kids in sports do, but oh well. 

    Madeleine made what I think is her first pun earlier this week.  We had pears at dinner, and she likes me to slice them for her.  There were some little slices, but then still a lot left on the pear, all in the same bowl.  She pointed at the bowl and wanted me to cut more pear, but I asked her what was wrong with it (since there were still a few little slices in the bowl... but apparantly (or is that ap-pear-antly?) they were unacceptable, and she said it was "too peary".  I asked her what on earth did that mean??  And she answered, "I'm just being pear-y silly!" 

    Yay for punniness!  We'll have to tell Uncle Matt.

    Grant is pretty sweet, when he's not trying to play the whack game.  He tells me a lot, "I just very love you!" and "I just very want you!"  Of course it's a problem if I can't be right there always... like last night when I left for ballet and he was screaming and crying about it.  But he also hadn't had a nap, because he'd slept for 12 hours the night before...  (We've actually had two great nights of sleep in a row-- it's a miracle!)

    My Uncle Spence's mom Elaine's funeral is today, so we'll be going to that, and then to my aunt and uncle's house.  We'll bring some books for Madeleine to read to Grandma...  she's been reading the leveled books from Marcy's school, and can do the H ones, which are at the end of first grade.  Now I just want to practice with fluency before moving on too much higher.  She has moments of fluency, and moments of stalling and losing focus.  She also gets tired with reading longer books.  That's okay; she's still just 4.  I do really hope she gets into the dual language program, so that she'll have something to learn in kindergarten.  And I'd love to go in and volunteer in Spanish. 

    The kids want me, so I'll go now. 

Comments (2)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment