March 18, 2012

  • Sorry for totally neglecting this blog.  I've been working on a LEGO group competition (running the month of March), and I spend all my free time fretting about that. 

    But one important thing to mention is that about 2 weeks ago Grant finally potty trained himself.  That's pretty much how it went.  I had tried and tried to give him the chance to pee on the potty, and he never did, not even once.  And then one night he went into the bathroom and told me to leave, and shut the door on me.  And then he did it.  He cheered and I came back and saw it, and we were all really happy.  After that, he pretty much did it all the time.  Even at night he was dry.  Now, we haven't managed pooping on the potty yet, but -- Madeleine didn't manage that till she was 4, so I guess there's no rush.  Anyway, every time Grant would pee on the potty, he would be excited, and then come and ask for high 5s and hugs.... he'd come at me and say, "Give me a hive five!  Give me a hug!  Yay, Grant!"  Brian laughs and comments on how self-promotional Grant is. 

    Madeleine remembered back to her potty training days (I hardly remembered, but she did) when I had made a number chart for her, and we'd write a new number each time she went peepee on the potty.  So Madeleine went and made a chart for Grant, all of her own accord, and wrote all the numbers on the chart for Grant, too.  Some of the numbers aren't written the best, but you can tell what they're supposed to be if you know how to look.  Brian looked at the chart and said it was obvious we needed to practice writing numbers with Madeleine.  She's getting pretty good at capital letters (her preferred style of letter), but some number help might be in order.   

     

    What else are those kids up to these days?  There was vomiting from both of them this weekend, and Madeleine has had a 102F fever on and off since yesterday.  But mostly things are good.  Grant says lots of cute things.  I like little phrases he uses, such as saying, "I guess" at the end of an answer he might give.  And when he's feeling in a loving sort of mood (as opposed to a playing, whacking sort of mood), he'll say, "I love you Mommy" and "You're my snuggle baby" (a phrase picked up from a My Little Pony episode). Aw, he's so sweet and cuddly (when he's not whacking or throwing or flopping).

    Madeleine is smart and fun and creative.  She's always coming up with great ideas for art projects and all sorts of other things.  She came up with the idea of making a rainbow hand, by tracking her hand with a marker, and then re-tracing it so that it was in all the colors of the rainbow (in the correct order, of course).  And she drew a really funny picture of me -- I really need to upload it to the internet and use it as my profile pic.  It's so awful -- and funny. 

    I guess I should go get to work on my competition stuff again.  Yikes.  I'm supposed to make 6 things this month, but I doubt I'll manage it.  I'll do some, though. 

Comments (1)

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment